Not Feeling Lonely on My Solo Trip

Choosing solo travel for me was never tricky since I had a lot of reasons to do it, and I did it as quickly as I could. While finalizing my first solo trip, I realized that it was a choice rather than a compulsion. I found myself too much occupied with work and I could not bring my schedule into line with my friends. I wanted to visit Morocco, India, and many other places, but my friends did not wish to go there. My travel style conflicted with my buddies, and there were budget conflicts as well. The most prominent issue was that I could not wait forever for my family and friends to begin accomplishing my dreams. Nevertheless, despite feeling self-motivated to take up a vacation on my own, I had self-doubts.

I could not assure myself that I’ll be able to manage everything on my own. I doubted that I’d not be ready to eat every meal alone. What if I put myself into trouble and I cannot find anyone to help me out. All the same, solo travel does not have to be lonely at all. It never happens like that, at least most of the times. The only point when I felt a little lonely was while traveling solo when I had to make my own choices and be responsible for them.

Meeting other people

As opposed to my solo vacation, I have seen such times when I found myself feeling alone in the company of my friends. When they wanted to party, I would want to read a book. When I tried to have a quiet time, they would feel full of life to wiggle. All in all, it resulted in times when I would feel lonelier with my loved ones than I would do so alone. Moreover, traveling alone makes me easier to talk to, and people find me approachable.

I used to be a shy person earlier, but solo traveling to a few destinations in India and abroad has forced me to leave my shell. I learned that being confident is a different thing, and to sustain yourself in all situations is another. I would need help to ask for directions, read road signs, and the only way to accomplish is to speak to the locals.

Making friends with the environment

My first solo trip was an escape from the urban life of Bangalore in India. I wanted to be at a place where I could adapt to a peaceful environment, and I decided to go to Pondicherry. At that time, I learned that the conditions around me were my only companion, and I made friends with them. After that, wherever I went, I made sure that whenever I felt lonely, I would either immerse in the activities going around me or just talk to other travelers and locals. It made me naturally more social with others. I had the advantage of choosing whatever I wanted from the world. I can hardly have that choice when I am with my pre-set friends or family. When I do want to be just myself, I can walk around and not care about anyone.

Making friends with people, the hills, a dog, a restaurant, or a river is so much natural when you are alone. When I was categorically fed up with my life in the city, I just took a Car Rental Bangalore and left for Pondicherry. I had never been to this place, but like all other tours, this solo trip enhanced my sense of being. I feel that I am a better person now than ever before, and the question of being lonely when I am alone is invalid for me now.

One thought on “Not Feeling Lonely on My Solo Trip

Leave a comment