How I had my best Breakfast Ritual in Bangalore on the go

When I went to Bangalore in January 2017, I had complete one week to spend in the city. I could have spent my entire time commuting to and from the office had I been staying far away from the office complex. Thankfully, I was staying close to my workplace, and I also had a little flexible work timing, which meant I could explore the city and yet complete my duties. Because of all these privileges, I decided that I would experiment with authentic breakfast meals of Bangalore every day at different places. Being from Delhi, I am a big-time foodie. I love to begin my day with a sumptuous breakfast. I checked out the following tried-and-tested breakfast joints of Bangalore and found out that most of them were exquisite places except a few restaurants.

Shri Sagar (CTR)

Monday began with the bona fide South Indian food of Shri Sagar restaurant, which was founded about 20 years ago by Sanjeev S Pujari. I found out that the locals love the Mangalore Bhajjis and Benne Masala Dosas at the place. The crispy outside, soft inside Benne Masala Dosa comes loaded with butter, which I happily enjoyed with my hands digging in the Dosa. A few happy waiters serving at Shri Sagar told me that several politicians, sportspersons, celebrities, etc. have been to this place. Even though it was early morning in Bangalore, I could see dozens of locals around me having a taste of breakfast delicacies.

MTR

With more than eight decades of history, MTR had begun as a small joint near Lalbagh Fort. Generations after generations of Maiya family have run the MTR restaurant in Bangalore, which was into the packaging of foods earlier, but then came into fresh food service later. MTR has been into operations since 1924, and it was delightful to have hygienic South Indian food on my second day in the city.

Veena Stores

Though Veena Stores sounds more like a Saree Shop, it is definitely not the one it suggests. The food joint is famous for its fluffy soft idlis, filter coffee, and crispy vadas. I had all three of these things, and I must say, despite the small size of the shop, the breakfast was sumptuous.

Koshy’s

On Thursday, I wanted to eat at an exclusive place. So I enquired and got to know about Koshy’s Bar and Restaurant. The special coffee of the place was really worth trying. It felt awesome sitting in the unique and historical ambiance of the place. I devoured the Roast Chicken and Prawn Biryani in breakfast for the first time, and I must say I did not regret it. The red brick walls are hardly painted at Koshy’s; they give a feeling of the pre-Independence era with its old-world allure. Since I could not eat more, I decided to try their English breakfast the next time for sure. They serve eggs in different variants life fired, toasted, poached, and scrambled with a wired range of toppings.

Vidyarthi Bhavan

My friend gave me the wise advice to hire Self-Drive Cars in Bangalore since you cannot rely on public transport of the city. I must say I was at great comfort finding out various breakfast joints around the city. On Friday, my last destination was Vidyarthi Bhavan, which is also a decades-old food outlet in Bangalore. The Vidyarthi Bhavan, situated in Basavanagudi, is treated as one of the landmarks of the city. When I reached Vidyarthi Bhavan, it was already crowded in the evening, but I managed to place an order for its crunchy Masala Dosa. I must say that Bangalore, as opposed to my expectations, did not disappoint me with its food at least.

One thought on “How I had my best Breakfast Ritual in Bangalore on the go

Leave a comment