How I Found a Way Out to Survive Cheap While Traveling

When I thought of long-term solo travel, it was not easy to convince myself that I would be able to sustain myself throughout the year or two. After thinking and constantly researching for a few months, I managed to gather the guts to leave my city and travel abroad for a few years. Since I am not a passionate online geek, I knew that I would not be able to be a digital nomad. Therefore, I had to search for an offline job that could let me sustain in a foreign country at a cheaper cost than other travelers. Ever since I started researching about solo travel in different countries, I could realize that the only way I could sustain long-term travel was to live like a native.

The finances

I had to make a financial plan before I left Bangalore for Dubai, which is otherwise a favorable country for Indians. Dubai runs several programs for Indian employees in several fields. The state has a huge demand for teachers in various subjects for their students, and I chose to teach the English language. Teaching was a great way to make ends meet, and have a great time in a gorgeous country like Dubai. I spent two years in Dubai, three years in Indonesia, and another two in Nepal working as a teacher, mentor, writer, etc.

One thing I had noticed being a solo traveler that it takes a mountain of guts to leave home. In the beginning, I had thought that I would never return to Bangalore if I liked it being a wanderer. However, after a few years of teaching and learning, I started missing my country. No matter how great other countries are, I always found solace in India only. I returned to my hometown after 10-12 years of roaming around the world in various countries, which was a great thing given that I had traveled to my heart’s content during this time.

After coming home

After being in India for a week only, I noticed that my city had changed a lot. In the initial period, I would rent a Car Bangalore to explore the things that had changed in all these years. I loved to live in my own country like a solo traveler again as everybody in my family had moved on. I could not keep grudges with them, apparently because I had chosen a different path in life. Many of my cousins had got married, were promoted in their jobs, blessed with kids and planning for more children in the next few years. They had their own beautiful life, which was running perfectly fine with or without me.

Nevertheless, even now when I think about my life and that of others, I feel absolutely satisfied. I have had my share of experiences and shortcomings, in just a little different manner than others. I have been with the locals in different cities and countries and learned about their thoughts about life. Being on my own for such a long time has made me strong, so much so that I can dare to face any challenges without any significant fear. It has taught me to take every challenge as it comes, no matter I succeed or fail. Given another opportunity of life, I would like to be a solo traveler for one more time in my youth as I feel that I lack the energy now to wander as I did earlier. All the same, I am grateful for everything that I learned and did in this beautiful life.

Leave a comment