How I Killed the Fear of Heights While Traveling

How does it feel when you know that you are scared of something, but your fear is absolutely irrational? It does feel highly insulting when you and your peers are aware of your irrational phobias. One such thing that always haunted me everywhere was the fear of heights. I had canceled many travel plans just because of this fear. I would not go to Rishikesh, Coorg, Dehradun, and many other gorgeous places in India only because I could not look down from the hills. It was just once during my childhood that I had gone to Morni Hills near Chandigarh, which is where I realized that I just could not stand at an altitude.

After that visit to the hills, my parents stopped taking me to the mountains. They had to cancel many travel programs just because they could not leave me at home. While I was growing up, this inhibition did not matter to me much. However, as soon as I grew up, I realized that just one phobia in my mind is not letting me live. I would not be able to focus on myself whenever I would go out with friends just because of this acrophobia. Nevertheless, enough was enough, and I decided to do something about it.

How the defeating began

Someone told me one day that facing your fears is not necessarily as scary as it appears. Since I had to figure out the solution to my problem myself, I was a little anxious about it. Just the thought of traveling to the hills would make me feel overwhelmed. I tried to talk to people about how they feel when they are on the mountaintop, and their feelings about the experience assured me that being there is not as bad as I think. I learned that I need to appreciate the beauty of Nature at its best.

The first step I took towards conquering my fear was to travel solo! Yes, I could not muster the courage to be around people when I was trying to deal with my inner self, so I decided to go alone for my first trip to the hills. I chose the mountains of McLeodganj for my expedition and prayed to God that I returned home safely. I did not tell anyone about the trip and just left one day for my destination that was going to alter my life forever. I had always preferred Self-Drive cars for my travel in Delhi, but this time I did not rent a car because I knew I might not be able to drive on the snaky roads of the hills.

Anyway, it was not too late when the Volvo bus started gliding on the hills at a not-so-modest speed, and it would be an understatement to say that I was scared. I could hear my heart beating as if a horse was running on a racecourse. I had to calm myself down thinking about the good things in life. I would close my eyes more often than I would keep them open; it would help me just to experience the sensation of being in a vigorously oscillating bus. The movement of the bus was not as bad as I had thought, though it was indeed terrifying for the entire journey. Somehow, I reached the small hamlet of McLeodganj and reached the Town Square.

In the early hours of the morning when I had to find out the hotel, I had reserved. And, in the meanwhile, I had to keep my eyes open. The scenery was indeed beautiful, but scary at the same time. I would not say my stay in the town was a cakewalk, but it definitely took out the monster of acrophobia out of my mind, at least the significant part of it. Just by being there in the lap of nature forced me to enjoy the beauty spread all around me rather than focusing on my fears. Just after that trip, I could think of making further travel plans. I thank myself and God for it that I took that solo vacation.

Leave a comment