How My First Solo Travel Made Me a Decision Maker

After your first solo travel, you immediately realize the changes that have incurred in your personality. When I went for my first trip to Coorg on my own, I realized one significant difference in my persona. Earlier, I would never take many decisions on my own; I would like to take a backseat and let the parents, friends, colleagues, and bosses make the big and small decisions of my life. And when it was urgent for me to come forward, I would take a collective decision with the support of relevant people. On the one hand, I was leading my life with a submissive attitude. On the other hand, I wanted to get rid of this habit of mine.

After a lot of churning in my mind, I decided that I had to get over this attitude of delegating decisions and take control of my life. And I chose to begin with solo travel, about which I had been thinking for a long time. I had read and heard about the benefits of single journeys a lot, but I had never thought of doing it on my own. I would always feel that it was not my cup of tea, and let others do it as they want. I would like to go out with my family and friends only so as not to get bored. However, the company of ruthless or ignorant people had begun to irk me, and I wanted a change.

The idea of going to Coorg came up when I was having a house party with a few friends, and they proposed the idea of going there. However, none of us could agree on common timing, and then someone said that why not go alone to Coorg? I don’t know the idea clicked others or not, but it did hit off with me. I did not take long to decide it in my mind that I am going for a solo trip this time.

I looked for Self Drive Cars Bangalore and booked a hatchback to enjoy the entire road trip with my own company. Being on your own for a long time gives a deeper understanding of yourself from inside and outside. Driving as well as the time in Coorg gave me time to understand the way I was carrying on my life, and if I needed to change my course in another direction.

Never did I feel the same about my life, the way I did during my solo trip. I had to force myself to take big and small decisions of my journey as I had no one to turn to. Earlier, I used to be a team player, but never a leader. Every time I had to decide on something, I would wait for others. However, now I learned to rely on myself and resolve things immediately, and think about solutions for more significant problems. I did struggle several times to be the person I was not, but it did begin reflecting on my identity.

I could feel the change in my way of walking, talking, and carrying about myself when I reached back home and office. My colleagues started noticing the difference in my conduct, and they appreciated it as well. Talking to my inner self was something I learned with just one small decision of solo travel, and I thank myself for it.

Leave a comment